Monday, November 29, 2010

Holliday Named to CCSSO Board

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced today the 2010-2011 CCSSO Board of Directors and Deputies Leadership Commission members. All board members and officers are chief state school officers and continue their tenures in their respective states while serving on CCSSO’s board.

“Our new leadership has a deep commitment to advancing the education reform agenda outlined by states,” said Executive Director Gene Wilhoit. “During a time of incredible transition across the country chief state school officers are dedicated to providing the leadership necessary to reshape American public education.”

CCSSO Board of Directors
President: Christopher Koch, Superintendent of Education, Illinois
President-Elect: Thomas Luna, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho
President Pro-Tempore: Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
Larry Shumway, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Utah
Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education, Kentucky
Deborah Delisle, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Ohio
David Steiner, Commissioner of Education, New York
Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Education, Massachusetts
June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.

No comments: