Saturday, May 26, 2007

37 named National Merit scholars

Thirty-seven Kentucky high school seniors are among 2,200 winners of college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships announced Wednesday.

They will receive $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

More college-sponsored winners will be announced in mid-July.

Louisville-area winners listed by high school (all are from Louisville unless otherwise noted):
Assumption: Bethany K. Lega and Alexandra E. Sack of Goshen.
Dupont Manual: Margo P. Emont, Aakriti R. Mehta, Mitch C. Otu, Katherine C. Reed, Eric B. Schwartz, Joseph B. Weston and Abigail R. Wooldridge.
Eastern: Benjamin L. Rupp.
Holy Angels Academy: Kathleen T. Knight.
Home school: John P. Koprucki and Samuel T. Ryan.
North Oldham: Derek P. McMahan of Westport.
St. Xavier: Edward J. Kinny, Stuart H. Pulliam, Daniel L. Vollmer and John C. Wright.
South Oldham: Steven R. Boerrigter, Crestwood.
Trinity: Kyle R. Bloemer.

The winners from outside the Louisville area (listed by hometown):

Edgewood: Kasey J. Leach, Dixie Heights High School.

Fisherville: Michelle A. Maune, Spencer County High School, Taylorsville.

Florence: Nathanael G. Cole, Larry Ryle High School, Union; Stephanie M. Straub, Conner High School, Hebron.

Fort Thomas: Jonathan D. Bender, Villa Madonna Academy, Villa Hills.

Lancaster: Tara M. Waldrop, Garrard County High School.

Lexington area winners:
Kristen M. Geil, Nazeeha S. Jawahir and Claire P. Strom, Henry Clay High School;
Stefan T. Kendall and Kyle R. Laaker, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School;
Kathryn E. Ormsbee, home school;
and Jennifer A. Ross, Lafayette High School.

Madisonville: Sarah J. Defini, Madisonville North Hopkins High School.

Manitou: Wesley Dement, Webster County High School, Dixon.

Walton: Matthew T. Ball, Simon Kenton High School, Independence.

Wilmore: Josiah D. Calicott, home school.

This from the Courier-Journal.

No comments: