Monday, November 19, 2012

Holliday named CCSSO Board President-Elect

Kentucky Education Commissioner Terry Holliday is the president-elect of the Council of Chief State School Officers’ (CCSSO’s) 2013-14 Board of Directors. 

Elections took place during the 2012 Annual Policy Forum and Business Meeting in Savannah, Georgia November 15-17. Mitchell Chester, commissioner of education in Massachusetts, assumed the role of CCSSO president. (You may recall Chester was a finalist for Kentucky Education Commissioner in 2007 when state Board of Education offered the position to Barbara Erwin).

“I’m honored to be named CCSSO president-elect,” said Holliday. “This organization serves a crucial purpose for public education nationwide, and I look forward to working with my state-level peers on policy and advocacy.”

In December 2010, Holliday was named to the board of directors for CCSSO. He also serves on the National Assessment Governing Board, which sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), known as the Nation’s Report Card. In February 2012, Holliday was named as a member of the national Commission on Standards and Performance Reporting, which will develop rigorous accreditation standards for educator preparation that will raise the bar for preparation providers. He has served as Kentucky’s commissioner of education since 2009.

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy and technical assistance on major educational issues. The council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress and the public.

The CCSSO Board of Directors is comprised of 11 individuals.
  • President: Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Education, Massachusetts
  • President-Elect: Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education, Kentucky
  • June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina
  • John Barge, State School Superintendent, Georgia
  • Tony Bennett, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Indiana*
  • Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
  • Jason Glass, Director of Education, Iowa Department of Education
  • Tom Luna, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho
  • Pat Wright, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Virginia
 *Seat reopens in January 2013 after Bennett (who was defeated for re-election) completes his term as Indiana superintendent of Public Instruction.

SOURCE: KDE Press release


Anonymous said...

This sounds like a very time consuming position, he should step down from his responsibilities as the states commissioner.

Anonymous said...

It sounds like the Peter Principle in action. Dr. Holliday is a not a respected scholar in his field. When will he have something original to say?

Anonymous said...

So how does this help kids in Kentucky? Probably a Commissioner with even less tolerance for dissent and less inclusive of wide scale educator collaboration. The guy already thinks he's created fire, the wheel and the printing press in the same day, so who really cares if his good old boy croonies pick him to be the head of their club?