Tuesday, January 07, 2014

Kentuckians Recognized for Math, Science Teaching

Way to go, Patti! ...and Suzanne

Two Kentucky teachers have won the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Patricia Works, a science teacher at Cassidy Elementary (Fayette Co.) and Suzanne Farmer, a mathematics intervention teacher at Toliver Elementary (Danville Ind.), are among 102 winners representing the 50 states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Department of Defense schools.

Patti Works
The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is given annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. Each year the award alternates between educators teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. The 2012 awardees teach kindergarten through 6th grade.

In her 31st year of teaching, Patti Works is an elementary science lab teacher, a member of the state and district Science Leadership Networks and served as a member of the Next-Generation Science Standards Review Team. Works is a resource teacher for the Kentucky Teacher Internship Program (KTIP).  She has been a member of the School-Based Decision Making Council (SBDM) at two schools, served on the Kentucky State Textbook and Materials Adoption Review Committee and the Fayette Co. Superintendent’s Advisory Council. 
Suzanne Farmer

Currently, Farmer is in her seventh year working as an elementary math intervention teacher (MIT) through partnership grants between KDE and the Kentucky Center for Mathematics. Before becoming a trained MIT, Farmer taught preschool, kindergarten and special education. She is Nationally Board Certified as an Early Childhood Generalist.         

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. Winners receive:
·          a certificate signed by the President of the United States
·          a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities
·         a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation

“These teachers are inspiring today’s young students to become the next generation of American scientists, mathematicians, and innovators,” President Obama said in announcing the winners. “Through their passion and dedication, and by sharing their excitement about science, technology, engineering, and math, they are helping us build a promising future for all our children.”

According to a White House news release, excellent math and science teachers, exemplified by these awardees, are critical to getting more students engaged in the increasingly important science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) fields.

The PAEMST winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level.

SOURCE: KDE Press release

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Wonderful. Congrats to winners. Always great to recognize teachers as well as appreciate their influence on children and colleagues.